Can you drive a car with a rejection sticker in Massachusetts?
If you live in MA, your car needs to go through and pass a vehicle check in order for you to legally drive it. If the “R” on your sticker is red, this means that your vehicle failed for safety reasons. While you have 60 days to get your car re-tested, it is illegal to drive a car that failed the safety inspection.
Can you drive with a red rejection sticker in Massachusetts?
Answer: The Red R sticker indicates that the vehicle is not safe to operate on public roads and must be repaired immediately. The vehicle must pass its re-inspection within 60 calendar days of the initial failure.
What happens if you get pulled over with an expired inspection sticker in Massachusetts?
Under state law, all vehicles registered in Massachusetts must pass an annual emissions and safety inspection, which costs $35. Driving with an expired sticker is a traffic violation that comes with a $40 citation.
How long is a rejection sticker good for in Massachusetts?
After you get safety defects fixed, your Certificate of Rejection allows you to operate your vehicle for up to 60 days, while arranging for re-inspection.
How much is a ticket for expired inspection sticker in MA?
What does a red rejection sticker mean in Massachusetts?
failed for safety reasons
Failed State Emissions Test The “R” stands for rejected. If the “R” on your sticker is red, this means that your vehicle failed for safety reasons. While you have 60 days to get your car re-tested, it is illegal to drive a car that failed the safety inspection.
What happens if you drive without an inspection sticker in Massachusetts?
Driving any motor vehicle without a valid inspection sticker is a traffic violation. It may result in a fine and affect your insurance rate. The Massachusetts Vehicle Check program is the vehicle emissions testing and safety inspection program for the Commonwealth.
Can I pull over a vehicle with an inspection sticker rejected?
When I pull over a vehicle with a inspection sticker that is rejected because of safety, does that give me the right to tow the vehicle. There are several reasons why a vehicle could be rejected. The first one I thought of is if the vehicle was rejected because the ball joints on the vehicle are bad, the vehicle should not be on the road.
How long do I have to pay for a rejection sticker?
Either rejection, the operator has 60 days to re-inspect at no charge, but they’re still not supposed to drive with a red R. That’s the confusion. 90-20 for a rejection sticker is $25, within those 60 days.
Are You Breaking the law by driving on the red sticker?
Despite your honesty and candor, you are breaking the law. Driving on the red sticker, you take your chances of getting a V like anyone else.